Somerset House Film4 Screenings- Studio Ghibli

cda1b4fb-cfa2-4049-9768-09c49d35922c

I attended a Film4 Screening of ‘Princess Mononoke‘ on Sunday night at Somerset House, and I had such a lovely experience. With many outdoor cinemas popping up around the summer months in London I felt like Somerset House was a beautiful location for such an event, so I bagged myself some tickets and found myself a Studio Ghibli fan to take along.

The atmosphere was lively with the DJ, bar, and food available, before the film kicked off as the sun went down. Sitting amongst a crowd of people who were all obviously Studio Ghibli fans was quite an electrifying feeling, and the added good weather definitely made it a fantastic evening.

With its extraordinary plot and stunning visuals, ‘Princess Mononoke‘ is a leading light in the animation world, and it was definitely a good choice as the first Studio Ghibli film to be shown at the Somerset House Film4 Summer Screening’s. There was even mention of ‘My Neighbour Totoro‘ being shown next year. So if you’re a Studio Ghibli fan be sure to keep an eye out and get your tickets early, because they sell out fast.

91bcbbc4-af03-4c73-80e1-6f8429c8b9b8

I think the only downfall of the event is the seating. You can bring your own rugs and pillows, or purchase some on sight, however sitting on the ground for a long period of time does get a bit uncomfortable after a while, and kind of takes your attention away from the film. Camden’s Backyard Outdoor Cinema has the right idea with deck chairs and bean bags available. But other than that I felt like this event had an overalll success.

Summer Screen Prints Film Poster exhibition was additionally available to see. I didn’t get a chance to go on the night, but I plan on popping along before it ends.  Print Club London have curated a selection of contemporary screen-printed film posters available to purchase for £50, which is a little steep in price, but having seen the exhibition last year before I know that the talent and work that goes into screenprinting is well worth the cost. I bought some postcards last year which were more within my budget, and it worked out quite well for me because I’m a bit of a postcard collector.

Screen Shot 2015-08-13 at 10.47.22 Screen Shot 2015-08-13 at 10.48.03 Screen Shot 2015-08-13 at 10.48.24

There are still some screenings going on at Somerset House, so check out the other films that are available before the summer ends. Or if you want to check out other unique film events, have a look at Secret Cinema, Hot Tub Cinema, Backyard Cinema, The Pillow Cinema, amongst many other unique film experiences on offer in London.

One thought on “Somerset House Film4 Screenings- Studio Ghibli

Leave a Reply

