I Love You More Than My Introverted Tendencies

I like to be alone,

But more than being alone,

I like to be alone,

With you.

I love you more than a quiet night in with a takeaway and my best friends Ben&Jerry.

I love you more than cancelled plans.

I love you more than sitting alone in the park reading my book.

I love you more than spending the late hours of the night scrolling miles on Tumblr.

I love you more than pointing at my headphones when a street sales person tries to get me to subscribe to sky TV.

I love you more than my regular Friday nights of clicking ‘continue watching’ on Netflix.

I love you more than hiding out amongst graphic novels and action figures in Forbidden Planet.

I love you more than writing poems while sat on the hidden corner sofa in a coffee shop.

So let’s get takeaway together,

Bail on the club night and build a blanket fort instead,

Let’s talk about books,

Send each other funny memes,

Share our latest iTunes downloads,

Watch Orange in the New Black,

Swap comics,

And read each others poems.

I promise I’ll go to the next club night,

I’ll tell a funny anecdote at your friends dinner party,

I’ll talk to more people at the party,

I’ll get to know your parents better,

I promise I’ll try,

I’ll do my best,

I promise I will,

Just please be patient.

I like to be alone,

But more than being alone,

I like to be alone,

With you.

One thought on “I Love You More Than My Introverted Tendencies

Leave a Reply

