I Bought You Flowers Cuz You Cheated On Me

It seems to be that I place everyone else as more important than me,

Which means I’m lacking in self respect,

But honestly it’s just a case of me not knowing how to be selfish,

I can’t comprehend it.

For instance I remember when my girlfriend cheated on me,

Or at least she liked someone else more than me,

And I didn’t tell her what I knew,

I kept it to myself momentarily,

I went out and bought her a bunch of groceries,

And spent fifty pounds on flowers.

I bought you flowers cuz you cheated on me,

In my desperation for you not to leave,

I bought you flowers cuz you cheated on me,

How pathetically insecure of me,

I bought you flowers cuz you cheated on me,

You probably didn’t appreciate flowers as much as me,

Not that anyone’s ever bought me any.

It seems to be that there’s a quiet sensitive soul in me,

Which means that I’m lacking in a thick skin,

But honestly it’s just a case of me not knowing how to process conflict,

I can’t understand it.

For instance I remember when my girlfriend was angry at me,

Or at least she was upset and bothered by something,

And I didn’t open up about how I felt,

I kept it to myself temporarily, 

I wrote her my thoughts in the form of a short story,

And spent 5 hours on words. 

I bought you flowers cuz you cheated on me,

In my desperation for you not to leave,

I bought you flowers cuz you cheated on me,

How pathetically insecure of me,

I bought you flowers cuz you cheated on me,

You probably didn’t appreciate flowers as much as me,

Not that anyone’s ever bought me any.

And all I ever wanted was acceptance for who I was,

And all I ever needed was encouragement to express,

And all I ended up feeling is that I wasn’t good enough,

And what I came to sense was that it was less about me not being good enough, and more about you changing what you wanted.

It was a reflection on you;

Not me. 

I bought you flowers cuz you cheated on me,

Can someone please just buy me some fucking flowers,

Cuz I’ve never been given any. 

Fuck it. 

i’m buying myself some flowers,

No more flowers for cheaters cuz I’ve blossomed in self respect. 

One thought on “I Bought You Flowers Cuz You Cheated On Me

Leave a Reply

