Fucked Over By The Clock

The clocks changed,

And everyone’s excited by the extra hour.

I woke up at 5:30am instead of 6:30am,

And continued to do so for days.

My body doesn’t give a fuck,

About the manmade construction of time,

And now i’m exhausted.

I start work at 8:45am.

I leave at 7:30am,

To get there for 8:25am,

Because I don’t trust public transport.

If you trust public transport,

Then I don’t trust you.

I was late today by 45 minutes.

I put my belief in the central line, And concluded

it’d all be fine,

I’d get to work in time; But that was all a lie.

It’s all about making those executive decisions.

Do I wait and hope the signal failure will be resolved?

Do I give up and get a bus instead even though it takes double the amount of time?

Do I pretend I have the money to get an uber?

I chose to be patient,

And have faith in the central line.

My patience fucked me over,

And my goodness could these idiots walk any slower?!

And now I need to top of my oyster;

But the machines broke.

It’s raining, i’m running;

I’m stopping, I’m starting;

Google maps and city mapper are savin’ my life,

I’m stressed like fuck, but shit happens;

I’M FINE.

I can’t change the weather,

I can’t change the time,

I can’t fix the machines and systems,

Or the man trying to insert a crumpled five pound note into the ticket machine for tenth time.

But what I can alter is my attitude, and just smile.

I got to work,

And yeah I was late,

I felt like a failure,

So I wrote this poem on my break,

To relax and unwind,

Release and let go,

What can’t be changed,

The unreliable shit public transport and people who walk slow.

One thought on “Fucked Over By The Clock

Leave a Reply

